Thread: What is the difference between HV30 and HV30E ?

Default What is the difference between HV30 and HV30E ?

Hi all,

I'm a newbie in the world of camcorders and this forum, so excuse me if this is not an appropriate post or is answered already.

I've recently decided to invest in a camcorder.
    After spending a lot of time reading reviews on camcorders, I decided to go for a HV30 (of course? .
    But what confuses me a bit is the two versions available: HV30 (for the US market?), and HV30E (for the European market?).
    Are there any differences between these two models other than NTSC vs. PAL and different input power on the charger/power adapter?
    Like functionality, firmware versions, etc.?

I live in nothern Europe, and the prices for a HV30E are much higher here than a HV30 in a US store (like B&H). If I buy a HV30E at the cheapest available price in my country (internet store), I'd have to pay $1600!
    If I buy a HV30 from, say B&H, for $850 including worldwide shipping, I'd save at least $500, including taxes for bringing the camera into my country.

So I'm really having a hard time here. If I buy the camcorder from the US, it will be incompatible with the PAL TV system, I'd have to buy a separate charger, and I probably won't get the same warranties as in my own country? Also, returning the camcorder for service if needed, will be probably be a hassle.

Hmm.. maybe that extra cash is worth all the trouble... or do I exagerate the problem?

HV30 NTSC (US): 24p...30p...60i..black body etc...

HV30 PAL (Everywhere else besides Japan and some of Canada...I think): 25p....50i...black body..etc..

There's really little more....but if I were a PAL user...I'd find myself an HV20.

EDIT: I only recommended the HV20 because it would more than likely be cheaper...but Duke is correct....get a PAL version for your region.
    Last edited by Ian-T; 2008 April 28th at 18:41.