Thread: Recording live band's audio with a 4-track recorder

Default Recording live band's audio with a 4-track recorder

Hello. I'm fairly new to the video world, however, I've been a performing musician for over 20 years. I often record bands live at local clubs. I have used everything from cheap 1980's style cassette 4 tracks to state of the art (for the 1990's) Alesis ADATs. Recent advances in digital recording technology have made getting a quality live recording easier and cheaper than ever.

I started shooting bands with my Sony camcorder when I got it in 2006. I was disapointed with the sound from it's onboard microphone. I knew I could do better.

In this article I'm going to tell you how *I* do it. There are many reasons this method works best for me. First and foremost is the situation that I am usually in. I record loud punk & metal bands in small, seedy dive bars, or at parties, which is even worse. The bands often have 15 minutes or less to set up and start playing. The stage is often very small. The sound guy, when there is one, doesn't want to bother with me. I need a system I can set up fast, that stays out of the way, and that requires as little help from the sound guy as possible.

Several companies make all-in-one hard drive based multi-track recorders. I use a Fostex MR8-HD. It can record on 4 tracks at once, has XLR balanced, 1/4" unbalanced and 1/4" line level inputs. It's super portable, and surprisingly durable. I don't think twice about bringing it into skanky clubs, where I would never bring my laptop. They are $399 new, but I got mine used on ebay for $250.

Here's the quick version:

1) Condenser mics left and right to get the guitars, bass and drums.
    2) Dynamic mic (Shure 57) on the kick drum.
    3) PA feed for the vocals.
    4) Mix down afterwards (next day when your ears recover)
    5) Stereo wav file into your computer via USB.
    6) Sync with the video in your editor or choice.

Here's the more in-depth version: