Thread: Mini SDHC Card for HV30?

Question Mini SDHC Card for HV30?

I've checked this forum and could not find the answers but admit I'm a newbie. I also hope this is the correct place for my HV30 questions.

Will the HV30 accept a Mini SDHC (Class 6) card or just a standard Mini SD?

If SDHC, is it limited to the 2 gig maximum?

If standard, what is fastest speed or version it can handle? (ie: V1.1 = 133mhz)

Can a larger capacity Micro SD card be used with an Mini SD adaptor in HV30?

Thanks for all your help.

Quote Originally Posted by previdman View Post
    I've checked this forum and could not find the answers but admit I'm a newbie. I also hope this is the correct place for my HV30 questions.

Will the HV30 accept a Mini SDHC (Class 6) card or just a standard Mini SD?

If SDHC, is it limited to the 2 gig maximum?

If standard, what is fastest speed or version it can handle? (ie: V1.1 = 133mhz)

Can a larger capacity Micro SD card be used with an Mini SD adaptor in HV30?

Thanks for all your help.
    Not sure what difference the HC makes, but I believe the HV20 is limited to a 4gb card.

Valued Member

The faster speed the better! I dont think speed matters with the camera, just dont get a really slow one. And remember to stay under 4 gb because i've had problems with other devices with the higher capicity memory cards.

Quote Originally Posted by alexville View Post
    The faster speed the better! I dont think speed matters with the camera, just dont get a really slow one. And remember to stay under 4 gb because i've had problems with other devices with the higher capicity memory cards.
    Reason I ask is because the HV20 manual specifically says camera is tested and recommended for up to 2 gig SD but is not guaranteed to work on anything beyond that.

Also, SDHC requires compatible devices for using the V2.0 (Class 2 thru 6) specification allowing the fastest data transfer rates.

Quote from Wikipedia:
    SD and SDHC compatibility issues